Nail tech license Texas|4 best steps and requirements for nail tech license

Nail tech license Texas
Nail tech license Texas

Talking about the “nail tech license Texas”, Texas offers a dual license called an “esthetician/manicurist” license.

To be able to obtain this license, you need to complete 1,200 hours of esthetician/manicurist education or 750 hours of esthetician and 600 hours of manicurist instruction.  

Also, if you hold separate esthetician and manicurist licenses, you can upgrade to the esthetician/manicurist license by completing the other subject’s training and submitting an application and a $50 fee.

Nail tech license Texas and Nail Technician careers at a Glance

600 hours of education are required in order to obtain the Texas Nail technician license.

Once the license is obtained, you must renew your license every 2 years.

Before the end of each two-year renewal cycle, you will need to complete four hours of continuing education from an approved provider

The average salary for manicurists in Texas is $25,890 ($12.45/hour). This is higher than the national average of $25,770 ($12.39/hour).

There is a predicted 18% job increase between 2016–2026 for manicurists. This is higher than the expected national growth of 10%.

What are 5 standards Nail technicians in Texas must meet?

As a Nail technician in Texas, to obtain the Nail tech license Texas, you must have a high school diploma or equivalency.

Nail technicians must be at least 17 years old.

If a nail technician has been convicted of a felony or pled guilty/no contest to a federal offence, such nail technician must submit a Criminal History Questionnaire with the rest of his/her application materials.

Each questionnaire will be reviewed by the board to decide whether or not they’ll issue their license (decisions are made on a case-by-case basis)

Complete 600 hours of training in a beauty school approved by the state, of course, you know that already.

Finally and most importantly, a nail technician in Texas must pass a written exam and a skills exam.

What are the things to expect from a Nail technician program?

For any nail technician school to have an approved manicurist program, they must be ready to offer their students equipment like client chairs, electric nail files, and whirlpool footbaths.

In your 600 hours of nail tech instruction, you can expect to take classes in:

  • Bacteriology
  • Sanitation
  • Safety
  • Supplies
  • Professional Practice

What Are The Requirements for the Nail Technician License in Texas?

  • Complete the Manicurist School Requirements in Texas
  • Register for Your Exams and Licensure
  • Pass the Written and Practical Manicurist Examinations
  • Develop Your New Career While Maintaining Your License

Complete the Manicurist School Requirements in Texas

This is the very first step to the nail tech license Texas. To legally do nails in Texas, you will need to complete a nail technician program that consists of at least 600 hours of training and coursework.

Therefore by law, schools must offer programs that include:

  • 320 hours covering procedures – manicure, pedicure, oil manicure, hand/arm massage, application of polish, buffering, nail extensions, nail repair work, and removal of stains
  • 15 hours covering manicurist orientation, laws, and rules
  • 15 hours covering manicurist supplies, tools, and implement
  • 100 hours covering bacteriology, sanitation, and safety – rules, laws, methods, hazardous chemicals, safety procedures, and ventilation
  • 80 hours covering professional practices – professional behavior, ethics, salon procedures, hygiene, grooming, and public relations
  • 70 hours covering arms and hands – major bone functions, skin structure, growth, regeneration, muscles, nerves, and types of afflictions or diseases

Register for Your Exams and Licensure

Once you have completed your 600 hours of training, you can go ahead and take your exams.

After the Texas Department of Licensing and Registration (TDLR) determines you’re eligible, you’ll receive an email to schedule your tests.

However, you must note that you must take and pass the written examination which costs $50 before you’re able to take the practical tests. The practical exam costs $72.

The manicurist exams are offered in English, Spanish, and Vietnamese.

TDLR approves your eligibility for your exams, but the exams are administered by PSI, a third-party vendor. You may take your exams at several locations across the state.

At this stage of your Nail tech license Texas where you have passed the practical examination, you may receive a temporary licence which you can use while you wait for the permanent one which will likely arrive through the mail.

Temporary licenses are issued by PSI on the day you pass your practical exam and are valid for 21 days.

Applying for the Nail tech license Texas examinations

To apply for these exams you will need to submit a Cosmetology License by Examination Application, indicating the Manicurist Specialty. 

Another option which you have is applying for these exams online under the heading Cosmetology Manicurist.

Option for a Temporary Nail Technician Permit

To be eligible for a temporary permit, you must apply online and pay for a temporary manicurist permit.

As soon as you pass your manicurist practical exam you are eligible for a temporary permit to begin practising immediately.

This is valid for 21 days and will allow you to work as a manicurist while the Department processes your full two-year license.

Option for an Esthetician-Manicurist Specialty License

Texas offers a unique license for those who are interested in combining the fields of esthetics and manicuring with its Esthetician-Manicurist Specialty License.

The esthetician-manicurist job description would allow you to do your clients’ make-up and apply beauty creams while also permitting you to perform normal nail technician procedures.

You can apply for this type of license using the same forms and procedures as a normal manicurist, however, you will encounter a few additional requirements:

  • You will need to complete an additional 600-750 hours of esthetician courses in addition to your original 600 hours of manicurist training
  • You will need to pass a written and practical exam that includes aspects of both esthetics and manicuring

Out-of-State Manicurists

If you are already a licensed manicurist in another state you may be eligible for a Texas manicurist license based on reciprocity.

This may be the case if your home state maintains licensing requirements similar to Texas – namely at least 600 hours of manicurist curriculum and the passage of both written and practical exams.

Depending on what state you are from, you may be allowed to substitute for a lack of clock hours with work experience.

Texas does not recognize out-of-state manicurists who were trained through an apprenticeship.

If you meet these conditions, you can complete a License by Reciprocity Application and submit it to the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation.

Pass the Written and Practical Manicurist Examinations

Once the Department of Licensing and Regulation has determined you meet the nail technician license requirements it will send you an eligibility postcard with information that you can use to create an account with PSI and register for your exams.

You can begin preparing for the exams right now with PSI’s Manicurist License Examination Candidate Information Bulletin.

The written exam is offered in all of the following cities, with those offering the practical exam also indicated:

  • Abilene
  • Amarillo – also offering the practical exam
  • Arlington
  • Austin – also offering the practical exam
  • Corpus Christi
  • Dallas – also offering the practical exam
  • El Paso – also offering the practical exam
  • Fort Worth
  • Harlingen
  • Houston – also offering the practical exam
  • Lubbock
  • McAllen – also offering the practical exam
  • Midland – also offering the practical exam
  • San Antonio – also offering the practical exam
  • Tyler
  • Waco

Once you have passed these exams the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation will send you a license application form. When you have returned the application along with the licensing fee to the Department you will be issued your manicurist license.

Manicurist Written Exam

You will need to take this exam first. The questions are sourced from the following six main categories. You will have 100 minutes to complete the exam:

  • Sanitation, disinfection, and safety – 27 questions
  • Client consultation and analysis – 8 questions
  • Manicure and pedicure – 7 questions
  • Nail tips and nail wraps – 7 questions
  • Gel and acrylic nails – 6 questions
  • Regulations and licensing – 5 questions

Manicurist Practical Exam

You will have 90 minutes to complete the practical exam, and you will need to bring your own materials as detailed in the Candidate Information Bulletin. You will also need to bring a friend who is at least 16 years old to act as a model. You will demonstrate the following procedures to a professional evaluator:

  • Disinfection and set up and disinfection – 10 minutes
  • Manicure service using your model – 25 minutes
  • Nail tip application on one nail of your model’s hand – 10 minutes
  • Nail wrap on one nail of your model’s hand – 15 minutes
  • Acrylic nail application on one nail of your model’s hand – 20 minutes
  • End of exam disinfection – 10 minutes

Develop Your New Career While Maintaining Your License

Nail technician jobs can be found virtually anywhere in Texas. This field offers stability and an opportunity for you to be artistic while also making your clients look great.

The Dallas-Plano-Irving metropolitan area offers one of the nation’s highest average manicurist salaries as compared to other metro areas in the United States.

Some of the best-recognized nail salons in Texas include:

You will need to renew your manicurist license every two years, and doing this will mean completing continuing education.

Before the end of each two-year renewal cycle you will need to complete four hours of continuing education from an approved provider.

This will need to include one hour of education that relates to sanitation and three hours of education that relates to topics covered in your initial nail technician training program.

As you develop your career further you may be interested in renting your own space in an existing nail salon or day spa.

Doing this will allow you to work for yourself, keep all your profits, and generally be more independent.

This is often the step entrepreneurial nail technicians take before opening an independent salon. To rent out your own space you will need to complete a Mini-Salon License Application.

Nail Tech License Texas Frequently Asked Questions

Below are some nail technician license texas online and offline related questions that people often ask.

Can I open a Salon in Texas without a License?

Yes, you can open a salon in Texas even if you are not a licensed cosmetologist, nail technician, or esthetician. However, one thing you must do is to apply for a salon license as an owner.

Furthermore, even though you can open a salon in Texas, you cannot work in the salon as an operator.

Therefore, any individual that provides hair, nail, or skincare services in your salon and is working under your salon license must have the appropriate license issued by the TDLR.

Is it Beneficial to Have a Cosmetology License to Open a Salon?

One thing you must have in mind as an investor is that you should be well versed in your field. Having a cosmetology license will far be to your benefit.

This also means that you will earn a greater income through helping other operators in your salon to provide services, or helping them out during peak seasons.

As a matter of fact, if you want to open a salon business, it is advisable that you get a cosmetology license.

After all, you’ll be required to offer the services at some point, and you can’t do that if you do not have a license.

How often do I have to renew my Texas cosmetology salon license?

Your salon and operator licenses must be renewed every two years. In that regard, operators will need to complete 4 hours of continuing education.

Salon licenses do not require continuing education.

Are there any continuing education requirements for Texas salons?

No. Only Operators (Hairstylists, Cosmetologists), Manicurists (Nail technicians), Estheticians (Skincare), and other individuals licensed in Texas are required to complete 4 hours of cosmetology continuing education approved by Texas/TDLR each renewal cycle.

Do I need a salon license to offer nail and skin care services?

Yes, you do need a salon license to offer nail and skincare services.

Can I offer home salon services(Digitally Prearranged Remote Service)?

The answer is yes.

If you have a cosmetology or barbering license, Texas laws allow you to provide a limited range of services to customers outside of a licensed salon/shop, as long as you meet certain requirements.

To offer home salon services or digitally prearranged remote services, you must hold a valid and current Texas cosmetology or barbering license( Nail tech license Texas).

However, any services that you offer to customers must be within the scope of your license.

You may either choose to work with a third-party company for scheduling, or you may act as your own remote service business.

If you schedule appointments via social media, then you are effectively acting as your own remote service business.

You must provide TDLR with a notice of intent to operate a remote service business and meet certain requirements to:

  • Provide your customers with pre-appointment notifications
  • Deliver receipts to customers after services have been provided
  • Meet required records management procedures for operating a remote services business

What Digitally Prearranged Remote Service Can I Provide?

  • Haircutting
  • Removing superfluous hair on the face using tweezers
  • Applying semi-permanent, thread-like extensions composed of single fibers to a person’s eyelashes
  • Hairstyling
  • Wigs and artificial hairpieces
  • Weaving a person’s hair by thread and needle or attaching by clamps or glue
  • Arranging, beautifying, shaving with a safety razor, styling, or trimming a person’s mustache or beard
  • Massaging, cleansing and treating person’s hands or feet for polish change manicures and pedicures, and non-whirlpool foot basin pedicures only
  • Beautifying a person’s face, neck, or arms using, antiseptic, tonic, lotion, powder, oil, clay, or cream

What Digitally Prearranged Remote Service Am I Not Allowed to Provide?

  • Coloring
  • Processing
  • Bleaching
  • Dyeing
  • Tinting
  • Cosmetic preparations including, but limited to, depilatories, sugaring, and waxing
  • Portable whirlpool foot spa pedicures

What are the requirements to open a nail tech salon?

Having your Nail Tech License Texas is the first step some other requirements are listed and explained below:

Choosing a Salon Type

This is listed as one of the requirements because before establishing a salon, the entrepreneur has to decide on the type of salon that he would want to run.

This consequently will determine the type and the number of licenses that the entrepreneur will obtain.

Business licensing requirements

To open and operate a salon, the entrepreneur has to first apply for a salon license from the state board of cosmetology; this should be before the date of opening of the salon business.

Cosmetology License Requirements

The state board of cosmetology requires every prospective salon owner to be at least 16. In addition, he should have the training and certification on the field he chooses to pursue from a school accredited by the board.

The entrepreneur will sit for an examination that determines whether he will get the license.

Certifications and Inspections

The state board will conduct an inspection on the salon to determine whether it has certified all the licensing requirements.

The salon and its location need to meet sanitary standards to pass inspection.

Permits and Tax Payment

The salon owner needs to obtain an Employer Identification Number (EIN) from the Internal Revenue Service as proof that she pays taxes.

In addition, she requires a sales and use permit and tax identification from her state’s comptroller’s office.

Can i do nails with a cosmetology license in texas?

Yes, you can.

Recommendations

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply